FAQ

 

FAQ

 
 

What is a banner?

 

A banner is an advertisement posted on an Internet site.
It is usually a multi-media image or item containing the advertising message of the advertiser. The banner is usually linked to the advertiser’s website so that the user can access directly to the site of the advertised company or product.
A banner can be either static or dynamic and can even feature sound effects.
The most common banners are created with Flash technology.

 
 

What does the term “Impression" mean?

 

An impression is the visitor’s exposure to an advertisement or a banner.
When you advertise on a website, an “ad impression” is the result of a visitor’s exposure to a banner inserted on a page.
This data is registered by the Advertising Server as soon as it receives a request to earmark the banner from the web page. Therefore, it is a unit of measurement which indicates a user’s exposure to an advertisement.

 
 

What do the terms "Click-Through" and "CTR" mean?

 

A Click-Through is a click on a banner or advertisement.
CTR is an acronym for Click-Through Rate and is the percentage ratio between the number of earmarked Impressions of a banner or advertisement and the number of Clicks it has received.

 
 

What does the term "rotation" mean?

 

It is one of the most diffused methods of banner management.
This method assures that advertisers’ banners appear in rotation within an area of available impressions in a period of reference.
Every time the page is refreshed, the user can view a different banner from another advertiser at any given advertising position.

 

 
 

What is CPM?

 

CPM means “Cost per thousand impressions” and it is a price unit for Internet advertising.
When you run an ad on a website, an “ad impression” is the result of a visitor’s exposure to a banner inserted on a page.

 
 

How can I use CPM to calculate the cost of an advertising campaign?

 

Consider the budget you have for your Internet advertising campaign. Let’s imagine you have €5,000. Divide your budget by CPM (10€ CPM)
€5,000 / 10€ = 500
Now multiply the result by 1000: 500 x 1000 = 500,000 ad impressions.
With a €10 CPM and a budget of €5,000, you can purchase 500,000 banner impressions.

 
 

What is a “fixed” position?

 

It is an advertisement earmark that features constant exposure of the banner for the entire duration of the scheduled planning period.
Every time the page is refreshed, the user can view a different banner from another advertiser at any given advertising position.

 
 

What is a text link?

 

It is an advertisement posed on an Internet site made up of a single word or short sentence.

 
 

I acquired impressions on a website but when I visited the site I didn’t see my banners. What happened?

 

In the case of a plan featuring rotational formats, it can happen that while visiting the site you will not view the impressions of your own campaign. This is due to both the random nature of a rotational system as well as the quantity of impressions acquired in rapport with the overall amount of impressions generated by the site (area). The more the site attracts visitors and generates pages, the more it will be necessary to acquire a large quantity of impressions in order to get visibility.
If visibility is a problem, in order to obtain more shares of voice with a limited budget, we advise you to:
• Plan upon shorter periods of time (for instance, one week instead of one month);
• Plan upon portions of a site (for instance, target channels) instead of an entire site.